Back in the Saddle, Writing, Catching Up, Prospecting, Not Necessarily Grooming

This very intriguing blog post from Reuter’s caught my eye. Has Video Killed the Blogging Star? explores the rise of video journalism, and I believe the reference is to something more than YouTube rants or lip-sync karaoke clips made by bored teens with technology.

[ed. note: Here is where I would have inserted a photo from the the Reuter’s blog post about the conference panel on video-blogging and whether it’s replacing blogging. Couldn’t get photo to upload. A photo of people discussing video versus print and technology advances enabling the new trend. Ironic, isn’t it?]

As I write this post, it is after 1 AM EST here in Boston. As usual, the husband and cats are sleeping. We had a very full day of recuperating from last night’s Celtics-Lakers game, followed by an incredibly disappointing Sox game today. (The Sox game last night was wild, too.) Thrown into the mix was some Indian food (delivered) and some catching up on emails and deadlines. No time for niceties of grooming, although I did brush my teeth at least once today, dragged a brush through my hair, not the same brush.

Life has been good to us lately, weddings to celebrate (Vancouver), conference invitations (Monterey, New Orleans), family get-togethers (Nantucket) and more. It’s also meant less than regular writing and prospecting. This is death for a freelancer.

I’ll get back to that now, but I thought I’d share the response I posted on the Reuter’s site here in case you don’t care to read the article.

Comment added to Reuters Article: Has Video Killed the Blogging Star?
[Begin comment excerpt]

As I fill in the anti-spam script answer and ponder what my readers might think of my current outfit and hair…I realize I have tons of notes to integrate into some coherent content, gathered from recent conferences and travel.

These notes are dispersed over a paper notebook (and my handwriting is now, officially, atrocious), some notes I entered into my Tungsten (which technically could be Wi-Fi compatible but the company is going under and no longer makes the card.) I think there might be a reminder recorded on a little digital recorder thingee my husband bought me in a sweet attempt to help bridge the platform gaps.

I carried the Tungsten and folding keyboard to travel light and left the laptop at home, comforted by the promise of a business center.

I also have some notes in in emails I sent to myself from various “24/7” hotel business centers, where connectivity was patchy and many guests awaited use of the one or two terminals…rather than hog the one terminal that was working, slowly, I thought I’d send a note and that would remind me later, at home, of what I wanted to write.

Well, you get the picture. Or, not.

As the current example may help illuminate, I hold the following truths to be self-evident:

1. wi-fi, web 2.0, bluetooth and other promises are still largely unfulfilled (my phone, PDA and computer are all sold as “capable” or “enabled” but…)

2. potential does not equal reality

3. writing in PJs is still the M.O. most often deployed by me and many other freelancers I know;

4. this is not a visual that would entertain or titillate any of you – I guarantee it.

Of course, in print I could tell you I’m a 19 y.o. blonde in something very slinky. Do you really want the truth? I’m in mismatched sweats with an orange tabby on my lap. I’m far north of 19 though I wash up pretty well on a good day. That day is not today.

No dear reader, I spare you the truth. You can’t handle the truth. For now I give you the gift of text (only).

[end excerpt]

It’s now after 2 AM, several attempts at uploading the photo have failed, but I have managed to properly link. The cat has given up on me. Must answer more emails.

1 Response to “Back in the Saddle, Writing, Catching Up, Prospecting, Not Necessarily Grooming”


  1. 1 mentalmists June 7, 2008 at 7:51 am

    Its an interesting question… Has video taken over the word medium?? For me, I’ll still take words any time, but I realize I’m an extinct minority 😦 … Hi to the tabby :)!


Leave a Reply

A window into what I’m thinking and writing about.

Whether it's Food & Cooking, Sports, Film, Travel or the Business of Writing itself...you can find it all through this page. Use this sidebar and the links below to go directly to whatever strikes your fancy. Jacqueline Church's Facebook profile

Where I’ve been seen, published, cited, syndicated…

  • - Tuesday November 11 @6 PM Povo Blogging Panel. Come to 660 Washington Street in Chinatown at the Archstone Building to see what a panel of bloggers have to say about the state of blogging.
  • - Interviewed by Sarah Turner of Suite101 about Using Blogs to Raise Social Awareness
  • - Reuters, Chicago Sun-Times, Austin American Statesman, BBQ Report, Computer Shopper. See clips here.

For Real on the Virtual Gourmet!

Noted food and wine author John Mariani ran my article Salmon and the Sustainability Zeitgest. Click here to read it!

Books make great gifts, for yourself or others.

Click here to see what's on my Powell's Bookshelf.
Powell's Books

Mark Your Calendars

August 22 - Courtney Hunt's acclaimed film Frozen River at the Coolidge Corner. See Diversions for more.

Caught my eye…

  • The Audubon Insectarium opens in New Orleans. See Getting Down with All that Skitters.
  • Copper River Salmon is so hot, even E!online is commenting on the stars who eat it. Taye Diggs was digging it.
  • Vertical farms? Colbert meets Ethicureans...heaven is for those with humor and ethics, yes? Interesting food for thought here....

On Women and Work

Read my contributions to The Glass Hammer a new blog for executive women.

Diversions

  1. Tales of the Cocktail may be over but the fun continues. Check the blogs and podcasts for all the news that fit to drink!
  2. The Maori art of facial tatooing is called moko. It is a powerful expression of tribal identity which has only recently enjoyed a resurgence as the colonial Christian prohibitions against it have lessened. Go to the Peabody Essex Museum for this rare opportunity to catch a glimpse of this amazing cultural tradition. The documentary I saw at Sundance years ago on moko, was one of the most powerful films I have ever seen.
  3. The Audubon Insectarium is a new and top-notch attraction in New Orleans. We passed by it and wondered why we'd missed it before. Turns out it's just now opening. No time this last trip, but it's on the list for the next time. Check here for info.

What's on my del.iciou.us list?

BlogBurst.com

